Milford Named Certified Leadership Community, by Nebraska DED

Milford Named Certified Leadership Community, by Nebraska DED
(left to right): Jonathan Jank, Seward County Chamber & Development Partnership; Betsy Samuelson, SENND; Deb Eggleston, DED; Milford Mayor Patrick Kelley; Rick Nelsen, NPPD

BEATRICE – The community of Milford has become the 26th Nebraska town to be recognized as a Leadership Certified Community, by the Nebraska Department of Economic Development.

The city of just over 21-hundred population is being recognized for supporting economic development and downtown revitalization.

Milford is home to one of the three main campuses of Southeast Community College.

Milford Mayor Patrick Kelley said the city is extremely excited to receive the leadership certification honor.  Milford officials have worked cooperatively with the Seward County Chamber and Development Partnership, Nebraska Public Power District and Southeast Development District.

Over the past five years, Milford leaders have continued to use a local sales tax…known as an LB 840 program….to back several building renovations, existing business expansions, job creation and retention of the local workforce.

Milford officials are working to develop a pipeline between area employers and the local community college.  SCC is currently building new residential halls and a new Diesel Technology Program Building, at Milford.

A presentation about the certification was made at a Milford City Council meeting, Tuesday night.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.