106th Nebraska Legislature’s First Session, Underway

LINCOLN, Neb. (AP/DK) — Thirteen new state lawmakers have formally taken office in the Nebraska Legislature.

:19  LegisOATHsfx (fades…)

Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court, Michael Heavican administered the oath, as the newly elected and appointed were sworn into their positions Wednesday on the Legislative session’s first day.  Another 13 senators who were re-elected also began new four-year terms.

Senator Jim Scheer of Norfolk was elected Speaker, on a unanimous vote.  Scheer offered his nomination for reelection as Speaker, saying he will follow what he said two years ago….to act with integrity and fairness…and not offer special deals or treatment of anyone.

:42                  “of this session”

The new, officially nonpartisan Legislature is now composed of 30 Republicans, 18 Democrats and one left-leaning independent. Despite their majority, GOP senators won’t have enough votes by themselves to overcome legislative filibusters.

Gov. Pete Ricketts will be sworn into office on Thursday.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.