Big Ten tournament roundup: Michigan sends Iowa to losers bracket with walk-off win

Big Ten tournament roundup: Michigan sends Iowa to losers bracket with walk-off win
Michigan's Jesse Franklin stomps on home plate after hitting a homer to tie the game 1-1 in the fourth inning. (World-Herald News Service)

First round Wednesday

Michigan 2, Iowa 1, 10 innings: Despite being held to one hit — that coming in the second inning — sixth-seeded Iowa (33-19) managed to remain tied with Michigan 1-1 heading into the bottom of the 10th. But the third-seeded Wolverines (33-19) loaded the bases, then Jesse Franklin delivered a sacrifice fly to end it and set off a Michigan celebration. Franklin also homered in the fourth to help the Wolverines recover after losing starter Tommy Henry in the second inning. He was hit in the throwing arm by a ball but Alec Rennard threw 5 2⁄3 innings of scoreless relief. Iowa, the defending Big Ten tournament champs, got seven strong innings from Nick Allgeyer, who scattered four hits and struck out nine.

Purdue 8, Ohio State 2: Harry Shipley had five RBIs, including a three-run double in the sixth inning, to help second-seeded Purdue (35-18) erase a 2-0 deficit. Tanner Andrews (7-4) settled down after a two-run first inning to pitch a complete game.

Minnesota 3, Michigan State 2: The top-seeded Gophers (38-13) got 5 1⁄3 innings of scoreless relief to win for the 22nd time in 25 games. Eli Wilson drove in the go-ahead run with an RBI single.

No. 4 Illinois 7, No. 5 Indiana 1

Thursday: Iowa vs. Ohio State, 9 a.m. Michigan State vs. Indiana, 1 p.m. Michigan vs. Purdue, 5 p.m. Minnesota vs. Illinois, 9 p.m. Friday: 3:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Saturday: 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. and, if necessary, 5 p.m. and 9 p.m.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.