Winter Storm Warnings Expand Further East

COLUMBUS – Several more counties are being placed in a Winter Storm Warning, with a system predicted to move through the area on Sunday and Monday.

Counties now included in the Warning include, Antelope, Boone, Cedar, Knox, Kearney, Harlan, Hall, Platte, Pierce, Madison, Merrick, Nance, Stanton, and Wayne Counties, says the NWS.

The NWS says the warning will last from 3 p.m. Sunday until 6 p.m. on Monday, and says near blizzard conditions are possible. The latest predictions  say Niobrara and Albion could see up to 15 inches of snow, while Norfolk and Wayne could see up to 12 inches. Columbus is on the edge of the storm, that could see up to  inches of snow, according to latest NWS predictions.

The NWS says travel will be very difficult throughout the Warning area, with ice accumulation limited to less than a tenth of an inch. Strong winds are expected throughout the duration of the storm, says the NWS.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.