Students From Tri County and Fairbury Awarded For Severe Weather PSAs

FAIRBURY – Students from Fairbury and Tri County were recognized Wednesday for winning awards for creating severe weather and safety public service announcements.

Students in 7th and 8th grades  were encouraged to create public service announcements, infographics or short informational videos promoting preparedness, storm readiness and safety in situations such as tornadoes, fires and other disasters.

Winners were chosen from more than 40 entries and cash prizes were awarded to their teachers to use in the classroom. Jefferson and Saline County Emergency Manager John McKee also told the students their announcements would be used to promote safety across the state.

From Tri County five students won a $500 prize for their fire safety video. That group consisted of Breona Meyer, Skye Washburn, Colton Bales, Christopher Janssen and Carter Holtmeier. Three other students – Breanna Chapman, Karli Scherling and Samantha Rainey – earned a $250 award for their tornado safety PSA. Both groups are taught by Ashton Feldkamp.

From Fairbury, the team of Brant Gillham, Salvador Chavez and Seth Engelman finished runner-up for their video PSA. They were awarded $100 for their class taught by Emily Winter.

The contest was sponsored by the Nebraska Association of Emergency Management, the National Weather Service and the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency. It’s the first year of the contest in addition to the annual 4th grade poster contest.

Two teams of Tri County students taught by Ashton Feldkamp won $750 for their class.
Three Fairbury students taught by Emily Winter were awarded $100 by Jefferson and Saline County Emergency Manager John McKee and Knox County Manager Laura Hintz.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.