Nebraska, Jefferson County expecting record voter turnout on Tuesday

FAIRBURY, NE – The midterm elections are four days away, and the entire U.S., including Nebraska, are expecting record voter turnout.

In Jefferson County, there are over 4,952 registered voters in 10 total subdivisions.

County Clerk Cynthia Newman, who is not running for reelection after four years, stresses the importance of every citizen’s civic duty to get to their local polling place.

“If you don’t go out and vote, then you can’t really complain,” Newman said, “because you didn’t make an effort to vote for your candidate that you thought was the best candidate. So, it’s very important to vote to get your person (in office).

“It’s your right to go out and vote, and you should go out and vote.”

Newman’s Jefferson County Clerk seat is being sought this election by Republican Kristina Riggle and Democrat Shaun Friedrichsen.

There are eight county offices on the ballot in Jefferson Co. this election. Two county board of commissioner seats (Mark Schoenrock and Michael Dux both unopposed), county assessor, county attorney (Joseph Casson unopposed), county clerk, county clerk of district court (Shawna Taylor unopposed), county treasurer (Leroy Bast unopposed), and county sheriff (Nels Sorenson unopposed).

Nebraska Secretary of State John Gale told a Beatrice Rotary Club Luncheon on Thursday that he forecasts a 56 percent voter turnout in the state.

“There’s a lot of keen interest in the races and in the ballot issues,” Gale said. “There just seems to be new people, a new generation involved because of the online voting registration that we have.”

In Nebraska, a U.S. Senate seat, currently held by incumbent republican Deb Fischer, is up for reelection. Her challengers are Jane Raybould (D) and Jim Schultz (L).

The District 3 Congressional Seat (Adrian Smith vs. Paul Theobald), the governor (Ricketts and Foley vs. Krist and Walz), the secretary of state office (Bob Evnen vs. Spencer Danner) and auditor of public accounts (Charlie Janssen vs. Jane Skinner) are also on the ballot statewide.

A pair of state offices, state treasurer (John Murante) and attorney general (Doug Peterson), are unopposed.

Nebraska has already broken a record with 1.22 million registered voters.

In Jefferson County, there will be 10 total polling places set up Tuesday. Six of them are in Fairbury – the First Christian Church, the 4-H building at the Jefferson County Fairgrounds, the Fairbury Community Building, United Methodist Church, Grace Lutheran Church and the American Lutheran Church.

The others will be the Plymouth Community Building, the Daykin Community Building, the American Legion Hall in Jansen and the Community Building in Diller.

You can follow Tommy on Twitter @Tommy_NCN.


We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.