Engdahl Voted County Chairman, Supervisors Appointed

COLUMBUS – A new supervisor will be acting chairman of the Platte County Board, and county representatives have been appointed to serve in various areas.

Jerry Engdahl and Hollie Olk were both nominated to serve as county chairman with Engdahl receiving a majority of the votes on Thursday. Former chairman Jim Scow completed his term as chairman of the board in the final meeting of 2016, and was appointed to serve as the chairman for the Road and Bridge committee, as well as the City/County committee, both previously chaired by Engdahl.

“Well it’s an honor, but I have no special thoughts. As I said [during the meeting] we’re all equals, we just elect one person to kind of run the meeting. I have no more authority than anybody else. I look forward to working with these people, we work well,” says Engdahl.

Supervisor Ronald Pfiefer was selected as the county Vice Chairman, following Engdahl’s election.

In addition to supervisor appointments, Kip Anderson was appointed County Medical Consultant, while Ed Wemhoff was appointed Chairman and Diane Pinger Secretary of the Platte County Health Board. Pat Heimes was also selected to represent the county on the Central Nebraska Community Service Board.

The also set the schedule for their regular meetings which will begin January 10th at 9:00 a.m.

See the list of Platte County Supervisor Appointments below.

Region IX Mental Health Board – Jim Scow
Northstar Inc. Board – Hollie Olk
Board of Central Community College – Thomas Martens
Northeast Nebraska Economic Development Board – Jerry Engdahl
Juvenile Detention Committee – Gerald Micek Alt. Ronald Pfiefer
Chamber Board – Jerry Engdahl
Extension Office Liaison – Hollie Olk Alt. Ronald Pfiefer
Northeast Nebraska Solid Waste Coalition – Ronald Pfiefer Alt. Robert Lloyd
E-911 Technical Committee – Jim Scow
East-Central District Health Board – Thomas Martens

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.