Second-teamer Stanley Morgan leads six offensive Huskers receiving All-Big Ten recognition

Second-teamer Stanley Morgan leads six offensive Huskers receiving All-Big Ten recognition
Stanley Morgan leaves Nebraska as the career record holder in receptions (189) and receiving yards (2,747). CHRIS MACHIAN/THE WORLD-HERALD

LINCOLN — Six Nebraska offensive players received recognition from the Big Ten coaches and media Wednesday.

Receiver Stanley Morgan was second-team All-Big Ten by the media and coaches, while receiver JD Spielman was third-team All-Big Ten according to media and coaches.

Running back Devine Ozigbo made the media’s third-team All-Big Ten and was honorable mention by the coaches. Quarterback Adrian Martinez and left tackle Brenden Jaimes got honorable mention from both media and coaches, and right guard Boe Wilson received honorable mention from the media.

Morgan, from New Orleans, missed one game in his Husker career and left as the most productive receiver in school history. He finished with school records in career receptions (189) and career receiving yards (2,747), and is the only Husker to record 1,000 yards receiving in a season. Morgan also had a school-record 38 straight games with a reception.

“It’s a blessing,” Morgan said of his records. “It’s overwhelming and I’m very proud of it.”

Said Scott Frost: “Stanley is one of those special guys I hope I keep in touch with for the rest of my life. He’s a warrior. He’s always ready to compete.”

Spielman caught 66 passes for 818 yards and eight touchdowns in 10 games, missing the last two with an ankle injury.

Ozigbo became Nebraska’s first 1,000-yard rusher since 2014. The senior from Sachse, Texas, ran for 1,082 yards and 12 touchdowns — averaging 6.98 yards per carry — despite not starting until the fourth game. He consistently broke long runs, including 66- and 60-yard touchdowns in the win over Illinois. He’s accepted an invitation to play in the East-West Shrine game.

“He is a Sunday guy,” Frost said of Ozigbo in the middle of the season.

Martinez had the best season by a freshman quarterback in Husker history, amassing 3,246 yards and 25 total touchdowns in 11 games. He eclipsed 300 total yards in a game seven times.

“I don’t think he has a roof, a ceiling, especially in this system and with the guys he has around him,” outside linebacker Luke Gifford said of Martinez after the Iowa loss. “I mean, man, it’s going to be tough to stop them here in the next couple years.”

Martinez was beaten out for freshman of the year honors by Purdue wideout Rondale Moore, who also beat Morgan for Big Ten receiver of the year. On the BTN show televising the awards, Moore said Martinez is “going to be a great player.”

Jaimes and Wilson, both sophomores, were the two offensive linemen nominated by Nebraska for all-league honors.

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins was named Big Ten quarterback and player of the year. The sophomore threw for a Big Ten-record 4,081 yards and 42 touchdowns.

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor won the league’s running back of the year, Iowa’s T.J. Hockenson won tight end of the year and Wisconsin’s Michael Deiter won offensive lineman of the year.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.