Nebraska sending Chris Jones, Tanner Lee and Chris Weber to Big Ten media days in Chicago

Nebraska sending Chris Jones, Tanner Lee and Chris Weber to Big Ten media days in Chicago
World-Herald News Service

Cornerback Chris Jones, quarterback Tanner Lee and linebacker Chris Weber will represent Nebraska at Big Ten media days later this month.

The Big Ten announced Tuesday the 42 players from all 14 teams that will meet with reporters July 24 and 25 in Chicago. Those players will also attend the annual kickoff luncheon on July 25.

Jones received All-Big Ten honorable mention honors last season after starting all 13 games at corner for the Huskers. He finished with 37 tackles and three interceptions, including one he returned for a touchdown against Indiana.

Lee enters his first season of eligibility with Nebraska after transferring from Tulane, where he started 19 games in 2014 and ’15. He sat out last season  but was named the scout team offensive MVP and earned the starting job coming out of spring practice.

Weber, an Elkhorn graduate, is expected to start at inside linebacker in his senior season. Most of his action has come on special teams, and he has recorded 72 career tackles.

The Huskers planned to send seniors Tommy Armstrong, Nate Gerry and Jordan Westerkamp to media days last year, but Nebraska didn’t attend the event following the death of Sam Foltz.

Below is the complete list of players that will be at 2017 Big Ten media days:

>> Illinois: Christian DiLauro, Sr., OL; Jaylen Dunlap, Sr., DB; Malik Turner, Sr., WR

>> Indiana: Rashard Fant, Sr., CB*; Richard Lagow, Sr., QB*; Tegray Scales, Sr., LB*

>> Iowa: Josey Jewell, Sr., MLB*; Matt VandeBerg, Sr., WR; Sean Welsh, Sr., OL*

>> Maryland: Jermaine Carter Jr., Sr., LB*; Ty Johnson, Jr., RB; D.J. Moore, Jr., WR

>> Michigan: Mason Cole, Sr., OL*; Maurice Hurst, Sr., DT; Mike McCray, Sr., LB*

>> Michigan State: Brian Allen, Sr., OL*; Chris Frey, Sr., LB; Gerald Holmes, Sr., RB

>> Minnesota: Jonathan Celestin, Sr., LB*; Steven Richardson, Sr., DT*; Rodney Smith, Jr., RB*

>> Nebraska: Chris Jones, Sr., CB*; Tanner Lee, Jr., QB; Chris Weber, Sr., LB

Northwestern: Godwin Igwebuike, Sr., S*; Justin Jackson, Sr., RB*; Clayton Thorson, Jr., QB*>> Ohio State: Tyquan Lewis, Sr., DE*; Billy Price, Sr., C*; Chris Worley, Sr., LB

>> Penn State: Marcus Allen, Sr., S*; Jason Cabinda, Sr., LB*; Mike Gesicki, Sr., TE*

>> Purdue: Ja’Whaun Bentley, Sr., LB; David Blough, Jr., QB*; Danny Ezechukwu, Sr., LB

>> Rutgers: Blessuan Austin, Jr., CB; Sebastian Joseph, Sr., DL; Dorian Miller, Sr., OL

>> Wisconsin: Jack Cichy, Sr., LB*; T.J. Edwards, Jr., LB*; Troy Fumagalli, Sr., TE*

* indicates 2016 all-conference selections and honorable mentions

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.