Husker coach Scott Frost awarded again; Iowa State’s Matt Campbell, Iowa Western’s Scott Strohmeier honored by AFCA

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Nebraska coach Scott Frost was named AFCA FBS Coach of the Year at the American Football Coaches Awards presentation Tuesday.

Frost, who was hired as the Huskers’ coach last month, led Central Florida to a 13-0 season, a victory over Auburn in the Peach Bowl and a No. 6 final ranking in the AP poll.

Frost was nominated for the award after earning AFCA FBS Region 1 honors last month. Other regional winners were Kirby Smart, Georgia; Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; Matt Campbell, Iowa State; and Jeff Tedford, Fresno State.

“It means so much when you win an award voted on by your peers,” Frost said in a press release. “As I said on stage, there are great coaches from the high school level all the way up to Kirby Smart, who was sitting next to me. To have my name next to the list of guys who have won this award before means a great deal to me.”

Campbell also was a winner Tuesday, taking home the USA Today Sports Coach’s Play Call of the Year award.

In Iowa State’s upset win at Oklahoma on Oct. 7, Campbell called for a two-point conversion after the Cyclones scored to pull within 24-22 late in the third quarter. Kyle Kempt threw to Allen Lazard for the conversion to tie the game, and ISU went on to win 38-31.

Iowa Western’s Scott Strohmeier was named ACCFCA Coach of the Year. He became the second junior college coach to win the honor twice after guiding the Reivers to an 11-1 season and a No. 2 finish in the NJCAA Top 20.

“I am completely honored and humbled to be awarded the 2017 ACCFCA Coach of the Year Award and accept it on behalf of my coaching staff and the fine student-athletes at Iowa Western,” Strohmeier said. “I really appreciate the AFCA and my fellow coaches for giving me this great honor.”

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.