Pioneer Conference Announces All-Conference Selections

Pioneer Conference Announces All-Conference Selections
World-Herald News Service

The 2016-2017 Pioneer All-Conference Basketball Teams have been finalized.

Conference coaches and officials released first, second and third team members, plus honorable mention selections Tuesday.

The girls all-conference team is led by Friend junior Raeleigh Menke. The 5’10 guard averaged 20.0 points a game, 8.0 rebounds, 3.4 steals and 4.2 assists.

Joining Menke is Jade Hill from Falls City Sacred Heart. Hill finished her senior season with 12.3 points per game, 6.2 rebounds and 2.6 assists for the Class D2 state champion Irish.

Other first team members include two teammates from Class C2 runner-up Diller-Odell – seniors Madison Jurgens (14.7 PPG, 8.1 RPG) and Madison Hajek (11.7 PPG, 5.1 RPG, 4.6 APG).

Lourdes Central Catholic senior Laura Box rounds out the first team with nearly a double-double a game.

Knights senior Hayden Miller (17.4 PPG, 4.3 RPG, 3.0 SPG, 3.6 APG) is joined by junior teammate Quinten Vasa (12.6 PPG, 6.8 RPG) on the boys first team. The pair helped lead Lourdes Central Catholic to their second-straight Class D1 state title.

Joining Miller and Vasa on the first team are Sterling senior Dylan Benson (15.8 PPG, 5.2 RPG), Johnson-Brock freshman Ty Hahn (14.8 PPG, 3.2 RPG, 2.7 APG), and Falls City Sacred Heart sophomore Drew Bippes.

Stats were not available for all players.


First Team

Raeleigh Menke, Junior – Friend
Jade Hill, Senior – Falls City Sacred Heart
Madison Jurgens, Senior – Diller-Odell
Laura Box, Senior – Lourdes Central Catholic
Madison Hajek, Senior – Diller-Odell

Second Team

Haylee Heits, Senior – Falls City Sacred Heart
Alexis Barnes, Senior – Falls City Sacred Heart
Olivia Farwell, Senior – Pawnee City
Emily Zvolanek, Senior – Southern
Brooke Baugh, Senior – Friend

Third Team

Fallon Stutheit, Sophomore – Johnson-Brock
Mariah Willey, Senior – Pawnee City
Libby Fulton, Senior – Lourdes Central Catholic,
Haydyn Weise, Senior – Tri-County
Katie Zarybnicky, Senior – Diller-Odell

Honorable Mention

Alexis Collins, Senior – Diller-Odell
Claire Kubicek, Junior – Friend
Kaitlynn Simon, Junior – Johnson-Brock
Mariah Murphy, Sophomore – Southern
Carly Wenzl, Sophomore – Sterling
Colby Thies, Freshmen – Sterling
Kristin Meybrunn, Senior – Lewiston
Bre Reyes, Junior – Humboldt-Table Rock-Steinauer
Sara Wertenberger, Junior – Falls City Sacred Heart
Ivye Meyer, Freshmen – Lourdes Central Catholic
Lydia Gyhra, Senior – Pawnee City
Madison Freese, Sophomore – Tri-County


First Team

Hayden Miller, Senior –  Lourdes Central Catholic
Dylan Benson, Senior – Sterling
Ty Hahn, Freshmen – Johnson-Brock
Drew Bippes, Sophomore – Falls City Sacred Heart
Quinten Vasa, Junior – Lourdes Central Catholic

Second Team

Trey Stutheit, Senior – Johnson-Brock
Andrew Davis, Junior – Pawnee City
Drake Adams, Sophomore – Southern
Grant Nanninga, Senior – Humboldt-Table Rock-Steinauer
Logan Anderson, Sophomore – Lewiston

Third Team

Rasmus Linnestad, Senior – Friend
Jaxson Balm, Senior – Johnson-Brock
Micah Erickson, Senior – Sterling
Riley Knust, Junior – Tri-County
Dylan Wolbert, Senior – Diller-Odell

Honorable Mention

Thomas Ragland, Junior – Lourdes Central Catholic
Theo Rohrer, Junior – Falls City Sacred Heart
Creighton Niemeyer, Sophomore – Tri-County
Kolby Houlden, Junior – Friend
Logan Bredemeier, Senior – Humboldt-Table Rock-Steinauer
Nathan Jacobs, Senior – Pawnee City
Austin Walters, Senior – Sterling
Reese Hennerberg, Senior – Diller-Odell
Trevon Saathoff, Senior – Southern
Emilio Gonzalez, Senior – Lewiston

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.